Arabian mare.

strands of grass tickle

my ankles above the ridge

of my dirtying socks

as I run from the others,

joining the game of the evening,

they shout and scream,

their words laced with giggles

.

my feet take me further

bringing me into the darkness of the night

my strides become wider,

bounding over forgotten ant hills,

rusty blotches under the stars

in a field of shadowed green

loping as I fall, my palms hitting the ground

covered in hooves rather than

skin

.

my socks snake

up my pale legs

turning shins into snowy forelocks

I run, hooves singing a melody

across desert sands of old

returning to my home land,

the neigh of welcome,

unbidden,

yet familiar as a lover’s

lips

.

one with wind, water, sand,

welcome me, my loved ones.

3 thoughts on “Arabian mare.

Have an opinion to share?

