It’s bad enough I see Jesus in my toast.

My bed is filled
With the crumbs of a Wendy’s sandwich
And a handful of toenail clippings.

They tattoo my body
With Morse Code every night,
But I can’t tell who they’re trying to contact,
Myself, my mother, or the aliens
Living in the tree outside my window.

I think I might wash my sheets tonight
With a bit of wine and sweetener
Cause I’m tired of reading
prophetic apocalyptic text messages
on my arms before I’ve even had breakfast.

 

April 6, 2014

Day 6 of NaPoWriMo

5 thoughts on “It’s bad enough I see Jesus in my toast.

  1. Thank you, great inspiring blog, i’m so looking forward to start reading and discovering what you write on here.. 🙂

    • Thank you for your wonderful compliment! I look forward to hearing what you have to say about what I write. 🙂

      Please let me know if you have any questions!

      Thanks so much for reading!

      Em

  2. I really like everything I’ve seen on your blog. This poem is wonderful, and the title makes me smile.

    I’m Tyler, one of the editors for Bard Publishing, and we’re looking for contributors from outside our immediate area (currently, the Monterey Bay, California area) to publish on our blog and eventually in print editions of our zine “Indecent”. Our goal is to build a community of writers, artists and like minds in order to take over the world, or something. At the very least, we just want to hear and be heard, and to allow others a space to do the same. To inform the populace that it’s time to step up our game. If you’d like to contribute anything to the community, hop on over to our blog, check out what we’re about, and you’ll find all the info you need to submit work and whatnot.

    Everything is a Construction / Buildings can be Broken,

    Tyler

    • Tyler,

      Thank you so much for your compliments! I’d love to contribute to Bard Publishing. I’m checking out the submission guidelines now actually.

      I hope to be in contact with you soon,
      Em

Have an opinion to share?

