To Make A Wish, Throw A Penny At the Golden Gate Bridge

I leaned my arm back, twisting as if it were attached to a rusting mechanical gear, till my shoulder burned and squirmed unhappily. The ocean spray lept from where it had collided with the side of the boat, splashing my face in a reminder that I needed to be quick. We had only a few seconds at best. My eyes closed, and I whispered under my breath.

“I wish for my mom to finally be happy.”

I released the tension in my arm and it sprang forward, flinging the copper coin that had been resting in my palm towards to the underside of the great looming bridge above us.

Done for my Creative Nonfiction Class. Prompt was to write a happy memory showing tension in under 125 words.

Have an opinion to share?

